Croptopia Scrapbooking INC

November 2, 2012

Step Nine: Join Me On A Journey

Filed under: Journal,scrapbooking ideas — croptopia @ 11:40 am
Tags: , , , , ,

This has been an interesting couple of weeks. Life got busy and I totally missed last Friday. But I am back on track today.
I have comleted adding the vital statistics to my memories of my grandparents. Some of them were listed in the old family Bible I received from my sister. The rest I got by contacting a cousin who is into genealogy. I thought my grandparents had been married in England before they came to Canada and was surprised to learn they had not been married until they moved to Winnipeg Manitoba. I think there is a story in there but I am not sure at this point how to go about finding out the details.
The next step in the journey will be to start going through old albums and getting copies of photographs of these dear people. I will also contact family members to see what they have.

I haven’t worked on my art journaling much lately but finally got down to it last night. I find it very interesting to watch the page develope. I don’t really know where I am going until it is finished.

First I covered the background in shades of yellows with my gelatos. I find them so much fun to use and I love the results. Then I used several masks to first put some muted blue squares and then some prominent spots on the page. I used my Sew Easy Stamper to put a scallop down the left side. It then seemed that a funny little butterfly was needed.

butterfly

At this point I had no idea where I was going. I thought I would try a person. I cut some patterned paper and tried to decide how I would draw the arms, legs and head. I drew a head and put on a face and penned in some hair. I did not like the face at all. I then cut some wings from the scraps on my table and went to be.
I woke up in the morning and knew exactly what I wanted. I cut out a face of my grand-daughter. It looked cute but her face didn’t cover the hair I had penned in. This little circle with a heart was sitting on the table. When I put the face peeking though, it was just what I wanted.

I put little silver glitter shoes on her and added glitter to the spots at the top of the page and pink glitter to the wings.

shoes

She is the angel that reminds me to smile. She is so filled with joy. And now I understand the butterfly. She loves butterflies. She is like a butterfly as she flits joyfully from one activity to another. I am well pleased with this page.

She is the angel that keeps me in the joy of the Lord.

I would love to see what you have been doing. Please add links in your comments to what has been keeping you busy these days.

2 Comments »

  1. Sweet page, I love the angel!

    Comment by Marjolaine Walker — November 2, 2012 @ 1:46 pm | Reply

  2. Love this page – so inspiring, and so sweet. Oh, and by the way, great photo of you at the top of the blog.

    Comment by Anne Pennington — January 2, 2013 @ 1:15 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

