Croptopia Scrapbooking INC

August 17, 2012

Step Two – Join Me On a Journey

Before I talk about the journey, I have an announcement to make. We finally remembered to make the draw for the My Little Shoebox package. This draw was made from all the comments on our blog hop posts last week…..drum roll……our winner was sister blogger Bernice. Congratulations! You can check out her blog at Bernice

Well I have decided to start this journey to connect my grandchildren with their grandparents. Step one was to look at the choices for compiling the information. You can check out Step One to see the options. It took me awhile to decide which option would work best for me. Although I originally thought I would use computer files so that I could transfer information around easily, I decided that wouldn’t work so well because I travel so much. I decided that some kind of note book was going to be best for me and it should be small enough to travel in my back pack.

I also have been wanting to keep a book with me to try out some art techniques. So I went shopping. I thought an art journal might work best but I found them larger than I wanted and very heavy for carrying all the time. Finally I found a watercolour coil bound book from Strathmore. It’s title is Visual Journal, What’s your Story. It is 5.5 by 8 which is a very convenient size..
journal
I decided to personalize the cover. It was very shiny so I started by covering it with Jesso. This will give me a surface that I can colour. I daubed the Jesso on so that I got a mottled surface.

I then used Gelatos, by Faber Castell to colour it. If you haven’t tried these yet you must. They are acid free pigment sticks. The colour glides on and then you can blend with or without water. The affects are amazing. I started by covering the whole surface with pistachio. I worked it in with a wet brush. Then I used Lime, Green Tea and Spearmint all together to create the darker green areas and cotton candy for the bluer areas at the top of the cover. Gelatos are new to me but I am loving the affect. My intention this next week is to add a tree and a title.

covers

On the right hand side of each page, I will put one name at the top of the page and list everything that I can think of about the person. On the left side of the page I will be free to try out new colour techniques and zentangles. It won’t be a real art journal but a place for me to dabble. At the same time all my notes will be in one place. It is small enough to tuck into my bag and pull out whenever I think of something I want to jot down.

I have added the first person to page one. This page will be Elsie Sear who married James Patterson. After his death she married Harry Manning. This coming week I will attempt to remember everything I can about her and put it in my journal. She is gone now and those who could tell me more are also gone, so I only have my memories.

Elsie Sear

Take a few moments this week to jot down a few memories about one of your grandparents and comment to let me know what you think about this process.

1 Comment »

  1. So glad you chose an art journal to do this part of the journey!

    Comment by Marjolaine Walker — August 17, 2012 @ 8:45 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

