Croptopia Scrapbooking INC

August 24, 2012

Step Three Join Me On A Journey

This week I worked on the cover of my album. I decided I wanted a tree, to represent life. I cut one out with my E-craft cutter and used the silhouette as a mask.

tree mask

I then used some brown and black inks and several sponge surfaces to ink the tree trunk and branches. It turned out flatter looking than I wanted.

inks and sponges
I will give it more definition and dimension with some pen work later.

front of journal

I am having fun writing down my memories of my grandmother and I find that each memory seems to unlock another. I think I will be doing much more writing than I had at first thought.

If you have a grandparent who is still alive, start listening when they are talking. Pull up a chair and grab a cup of coffee and listen. Try not to probe too much. Just get them started. Listen for stories about when they were children or teenagers. How were things different then? What did they like to do? What was their favourite food? My grandparents used to love to talk but I wasn’t very good at listening.

Think about the things you would like to share if you were introducing this person to someone. What makes them interesting ? What makes them different.

Recently my sister called and told me that in clearing out my uncle’s apartment, she found my grandmother’s Bible. I was so excited. I had to wait several days to get it in my hands but I was pretty sure I would find that my grandmother had the tradition of writing all the family dates in the middle of her Bible. Sure enough, so much information was there that I didn’t have before. It took me back a generation further into the past. It will also allow me to add lots of dates to my journal as I go.

Please join me in this journey and leave me a comment. Have you ever done anything like this? Do you have some tips for me?

.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

