Croptopia Scrapbooking INC

August 31, 2012

Step Four: Join Me On a Journey

I have been continuing my journey to introduce my grandparents to my grandchildren. I started writing about my grandmother, Elsie May Sear (Patterson, Manning) and each little memory reminded me of another. I felt so close to her as I was writing. I kept remembering more and more. I realized what a strong person she must have been.

Today I am writing about my grandfather. James Alexander Patterson. I never met him. He died when my mom was really little and I know very little about him. My mom remembers him as a very gentle kind man. I will write the things I have been told about him and then over the next week I will write about my mom’s step father, Harry Edgar Manning. Although he is also dead now, I did know him when I was younger

This week I have been having fun with my art side of the page.

wipe across horizontal lines to create background

Using my gelatos from Faber Castell Design Memory Craft, I started by making horizontal stripes on the page. I started with light greens and worked my way through blues to purple. I then used a baby wipe to wipe up the page and then down the page in vertical stripes.

plaid backgroundI went horizontally across the page and then vertically repeatedly until I like the effect. This kind of made a plaid pattern with a crayon effect. If you want a richer smoother surface, you can add the horizontal stripes again and wipe it until you get the desired finish.

flower stamp

Then I used a flower stamp and a green big brush marker from Faber Castell Design Memory Craft to make a design on the bottom of the page and a small stamp in the top corner.

coloured in some of the leavesI coloured in a few of the leaves for effect using one of the deeper greens from my background.

embellish flower
I embellished this rose die with silver ink and added a little ribbon.

Isaiah 46:8

The Bible verse that I chose reflects my thoughts about my Grandmother.
Isaiah 40:8 The grass withers and flowers fade but the word of of our God lasts forever.

Have you joined me on this journey, please make a comment and let me know. It has been a month now and I need some encouragement to continue on the path.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

