Croptopia Scrapbooking INC

September 14, 2012

Step Six: Join Me On a Journey

This week I have been on a the Disney Cruise Ship WOnder, with two of our grandchildren. It was such a wonderful time. They live on the other side of Canada so we only see them once or twice each year. Even with that much involvement we know them quite well and it was a joy to get to know them better. We did side trips in Ketchikan, Juneau, and Skagway. They panned for gold, ate BBQ salmon and studied glaciers. I found out that Daniel loves seafood and will try just about anything off the menu and Andrew has the most wonderful laugh. It was a thoroughly lovely vacation.

I thought I would spend time writing memories in my little journal book but I found I was having too much fun making new memories. For that reason I didn’t get on to this weeks blog entry until Thursday night.

This week I wrote my memories about my step-grandfather. I didn’t know him well but found I had lots of memories as each one unwrapped the next. I tried to write what I felt about what I knew about him. I didn’t worry about dates, I just wrote what I remembered. I will seek out more detailed information about his life statistics after I have written my memories of each individual that I want to remember.

step six journey art page
For my art page I took out my gelatos and did a muted wash of light blue. I coloured lightly on the page and then smudged it all with a baby whip. Then I rubbed some green on a stamping block, added water and then used a brush to accent the edges of the page. I look forward to watching some videos over the next week and finding some more things that I can do with my art materials.

step six pine stamp
Then I pulled out an old Stampin Up leaf set and decided to stamped a Pine branch motif up the side of the page in dark green. I over washed it with some silver but it doesn’t show up very well.

I am definitely doing this in baby steps but it is going forward. I like that I have made a committment to post every Friday and it gives me a goal each week. I open my house to anyone who wants to join me to scrapbook or paint on Thursday nights, so I always have company as I am finishing up.

Over the next two weeks I will be writing about the grandparents that I knew the best, so I will be writing much more.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

