Croptopia Scrapbooking INC

December 22, 2012

Step Ten Join Me on a Journey

Filed under: Journal — croptopia @ 2:58 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I seem to have lost my way. What with getting ready for Christmas, flu and colds, and basic busyness, I just got right off the path that I had been working on. This project has gone on longer than I had originally thought it would.

I want to have photographs of all of the grandparents that I have been writing about. I am looking for old albums that seem to be hidding somewhere. I remember a photograph of one of the weddings. It used to be hanging on my grandma’s dining room wall. I sent several emails out, and I finally know who has the picture. Now I am just trying to get a copy sent to me. I will continue to work on getting the photos together.

The next step for me was to put together a family tree. I thought of several different ways to do this. I could use some printed sheets and put on all the details dates etc. I decided that the easiest way, to begin,  was to just do the names.

genealogy chart

I drew out all the grid and put in all the names with pencil. This way I was able to erase and make changes as I needed to. Then I created the background right over my writing on both pages with blue and yellow gelatos. When the colours were dry I went over all the lines and names with a black marker. To finish it off I used a blue big brush pen to embellish around the boxes. The final touch was to add the word “Family” and a little silver to the edge of the pages. . I thought that doing the page simply would make it easier for my grandchildren to follow and understand.

I am going to close off this project for now. I will come back to it next year and do the same steps for my husbands grandparents and then I will combine the two family trees. There is still much work to be done but I want to move onto some other things for 2013.

Watch for my postings on JOY!! this year. I feel a need to better understand joy. The Bible tells us that …”The joy of the Lord is our strength” I could sure use more strength in my life. I will be searching out the concept of joy as we move into 2013. I’m not totally sure what form that will take but I am ready to try.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

